What do the thrones and elders represent in Revelation 4:4?


Revelation 4:4

NKJV - 4 Around the throne were twenty-four thrones, and on the thrones I saw twenty-four elders sitting, clothed in white robes; and they had crowns of gold on their heads.

Clarify Share Report Asked January 12 2016 Mini Wynn Scheer

Community answers are sorted based on votes. The higher the vote, the further up an answer is.

Mini Kenneth Heck
Scripture doesn't tell us who these elders are. One clue may be that they are called "elders," implying they would be much older than Christians were at the time John wrote Revelation. 

I believe they are Old Testament prophets who who were severely persecuted and in most cases slain for the sake of righteousness, as Christians later were in taking up their cross and following Christ. They would all have the Holy Spirit while alive, but would be not in the Throne room before Christ was crucified and led "captivity captive" (Eph 4:8). They fulfilled the conditions required of Christians to receive a crown before Christianity began. As a result they have the thrones and crowns promised to Christians (Rev 2:11, 3:11, 3:21).

January 13 2016 8 responses Vote Up Share Report

Mini Marvin Reynolds Retired Chaplain U.S. Army Hospital
This is a very interesting part of the Book of Revelation as it is clearly in Chapter 4 a description of the Throne of God. There are exactly 10 items noted in the Chapter as in and around God's Throne including the Rainbow and the Son of God. Note that this formation is given in exactly the same way of the 10 Commandments which makes good sense why God GAVE TO MOSES the 10 and only 10 Commandments which deal with the what God is at his Throne. To see this draw a picture in your name of the description given in Chapter 4 which will make you understand what the 10 Commandments was REALLY about and that set of Laws clearly is the Kingdom of God now and forever. Let me give you the list for your understanding.

First Item is GOD--There is not other God before him.
The Second is the Rainbow and lighting on the Throne--Make no graven image.
The Third is the Son-Do not take the name of God in vain.
The fourth is the Seven Candles of light-Remember the Sabbath Day
The Fifth is 24 Elders-Honor you Father and mother.
The Sixth is the CALF eyes and wings-Do not kill
The Seventh is a man with wings and eyes-Do not commit adultery.
The Eight is a LION with wings and eyes-Do not kill (murder).
The Ninth is an Eagle with wings-Do not Steal
The Tenth is a BLUE solid floor meaning people-Do not bear false witness against you neighbor.

Now you understand the Bible is a unit pointing in every place to the goal of the Father and where is he headed,. That will be his HEAVEN and how it will operate in Eternity Future. 

Hope this helps. It sure makes sense of WHY God gave Moses ONLY ten commandment and that was spoken as they approached the Mountain of God in the for of a quake and lighting which is exactly what is stated in Chapter 4 of what was see at the Throne of God.

January 12 2016 0 responses Vote Up Share Report

Add your Answer

All answers are REVIEWED and MODERATED.
Please ensure your answer MEETS all our guidelines.

What makes a good answer? ▼

A good answer provides new insight and perspective. Here are guidelines to help facilitate a meaningful learning experience for everyone.

  1. Adhere to the eBible Statement of Faith.
  2. Your answer should be complete and stand-alone.
  3. Include supporting arguments, and scripture references if possible. Seek to answer the "why".
  4. Adhere to a proper tone and spirit of love and understanding.
  5. For more info see The Complete Guide to eBible
  1. 4000 characters remaining