Is the book of Revelation written in chronological order?


Clarify Share Report Asked October 31 2014 Mini vanessa pannuti

Community answers are sorted based on votes. The higher the vote, the further up an answer is.

Mini Eric Dabbs
The book of Revelation remains a mystery for a lot of Christians because they tend to write it off as being too hard to understand, or they believe it doesn't really apply to their life. Because of this, it remains shrouded in mystery for most Christians.

The first few verses in chapter one tells us that those who read or hear the words of this prophecy and keep it will be blessed. So it is important to read it just as much as any other part of the Bible, especially since it deals with end time events leading up to the second coming of Christ. Many seem to think that the 7 seals, 7 trumpets, and 7 bowls are parallel or run concurrently because some of the events are very similar. Here's something to think about.

Chapter six starts with the 7 seals. Notice that the opening of the 7th seal brings on the 7 trumpets. In other words, no trumpets can sound until the 7th seal is opened. Also, the 7 bowls are poured out only after the 7 trumpets have sounded. The 7 seals parallel the beginning of sorrows, what Jesus told His disciples in Matthew 24. The 6th seal announces with great power from heaven displayed on earth that the day of the Lord and the great tribulation are about to begin. The 7th seal begins this dreaded period in history. There is silence in heaven. Then the trumpets begin to sound. 

The 7 trumpets are partial judgements. Most of them only effect 1/3 of the earth, or whatever their intended target is. Then finally, the 7 bowls are poured out. These are complete judgments. They effect 100% of their intended targets. They are poured out in full strength. These likely occur right after the great tribulation period. Daniel's 70th week, or 7 year tribulation period could be viewed like this:

7 Seals - Beginning of Sorrows - First 3.5 years
7 Trumpets - Great Tribulation - Last 3.5 years
7 Bowls - Just after the Great Tribulation- Before Christ physically touches the earth.

So, yes, I believe generally it is written in chronological order. However, there are some portions (chapters) that seem to go back and add details to the overall timeline. I'm not saying there are not any flaws with my timeline, but I do believe the events are in chronological order because of the simple points I shared above.

November 02 2014 2 responses Vote Up Share Report

Add your Answer

All answers are REVIEWED and MODERATED.
Please ensure your answer MEETS all our guidelines.

What makes a good answer? ▼

A good answer provides new insight and perspective. Here are guidelines to help facilitate a meaningful learning experience for everyone.

  1. Adhere to the eBible Statement of Faith.
  2. Your answer should be complete and stand-alone.
  3. Include supporting arguments, and scripture references if possible. Seek to answer the "why".
  4. Adhere to a proper tone and spirit of love and understanding.
  5. For more info see The Complete Guide to eBible
  1. 4000 characters remaining