← Back

What is the book of Isaiah?


Isaiah 1:1

ESV - 1 The vision of Isaiah the son of Amoz, which he saw concerning Judah and Jerusalem in the days of Uzziah, Jotham, Ahaz, and Hezekiah, kings of Judah.

Clarify Share Report Asked November 15 2013 Mini Anonymous (via GotQuestions)

Community answers are sorted based on votes. The higher the vote, the further up an answer is.

Shea S. Michael Houdmann Supporter Got Questions Ministries
Author: Isaiah 1:1 identifies the author of the Book of Isaiah as the Prophet Isaiah.Date of Writing: The Book of Isaiah was written between 701 and 681 B.C.Purpose of Writing: The Prophet Isaiah w...

November 15 2013 0 responses Vote Up Share Report

Data Doreen Lovell Evangelist and Prayer Intercessor
Who was Isaiah?

Isaiah was the son of Amoz, and was one of the most prominent citizens of Jerusalem, having access to both the royal and priestly leadership of the nation of Judah. His Hebrew name "Yesha Yahu", means "Yahweh is Salvation". The significance of his name is revealed in his prophetic ministry, because he came at a time when it was important for the people to realize that salvation was of the Lord, and not merely by human efforts. He found himself standing at the peak of Assyria's rising imperialism and the emergence of a spirit of universalism which began to turn the people from the Lord.

He was the literary genius of the prophets of Israel. His life spanned the rule of several kings from Uzziah (740 B.C.), Jotham (752-736 B.C.), Ahaz (736- 720 B.C.) and Hezekiah (729--699 B.C.). Isaiah was the prime figure during Hezekiah's reign when Hezekiah introduced a policy of reform in Judah by repairing and cleansing the temple, and returning to the Mosaic law to determine national ethics. How long the prophet lived after these years with Hezekiah is unknown.

October 11 2014 0 responses Vote Up Share Report

My picture Jack Gutknecht ABC/DTS graduate, guitar music ministry Baptist church
Two Sections in Isaiah
There is but one Author, the prophet Isaiah: but there are two distinct sections. 
SECTION 1 ––Chapters 1 to 39, corresponding to the 39 Books of the Old Testament, begins with Sin and Transgression in Ch.1 and ends with Punishment and Captivity in Ch.40 and ends with a New Heaven and a New Earth in Ch.66.

Section 2 has 3 Divisions each of 9 Chapters, each one punctuated by a warning––Chs.40:1-48:22 ‘There is no peace, saith the Lord, unto the wicked’. Chs.49:1-57:21 ‘There is no peace, saith my God, to the wicked.’ Chs.58:1-66:24 ‘Their worm shall not die, neither shall their fire be quenched.’

A sample verse which comes from the CENTRAL CHAPTER OF SECTION 2 --Ch. 53, which Dr. Allen Ross, that I took Hebrew from @ Dallas Seminary, calls. "The Suffering Servant (Isaiah 52:13-53:12)," is Isaiah 53:5, 
"But he was wounded for our transgressions, he was bruised for our iniquities: the chastisement of our peace was upon him; and with his stripes we are healed." 

"O mighty cross, my soul's release; the stripes He bore have brought me peace." -- Keith Staten
Such overarching and overwhelming shalom could be “brought” to us, God’s people (see NIV -- Isaiah 53:5 “But he was pierced for our transgressions, he was crushed for our iniquities; the punishment that brought us peace was on him, and by his wounds we are healed,” only by the atoning sacrifice of the One who was “wounded for our transgressions” (Is 53:5 KJV)/ “pierced for our transgressions” (Is 53:5, NIV) and ““bruised for our iniquities” (Isa 53:5, KJV)/ “crushed for our iniquities” (Is 53:5, NIV).

After I trusted Jesus Christ as my own personal Savior, I was like a prisoner set free from jail and discovered that my new-found freedoms in Christ were a bit overwhelming at first!

July 27 2019 0 responses Vote Up Share Report

Add your Answer

All answers are REVIEWED and MODERATED.
Please ensure your answer MEETS all our guidelines.

What makes a good answer? ▼

A good answer provides new insight and perspective. Here are guidelines to help facilitate a meaningful learning experience for everyone.

  1. Adhere to the eBible Statement of Faith.
  2. Your answer should be complete and stand-alone.
  3. Include supporting arguments, and scripture references if possible. Seek to answer the "why".
  4. Adhere to a proper tone and spirit of love and understanding.
  5. For more info see The Complete Guide to eBible
  1. 4000 characters remaining