Who were the 12 tribes of Ishmael?


Clarify Share Report Asked July 21 2019 Mini Anonymous

Community answers are sorted based on votes. The higher the vote, the further up an answer is.

Mini Tim Maas Retired Quality Assurance Specialist with the U.S. Army
Ishmael's twelve sons are mentioned in Genesis 25:12-15. They were named (in the order of their births) Nebaioth, Kedar, Adbeel, Mibsam, Mishma, Dumah, Massa, Hadad, Tema, Jetur, Naphish, and Kedemah. Genesis 25:16 describes them as "princes" (in fulfillment of the promise that God had made to Abraham in Genesis 17:20), and Genesis 25:18 says that the tribes that they founded dwelt "from Havilah to Shur, which is opposite Egypt in the direction of Assyria."

July 21 2019 0 responses Vote Up Share Report

Add your Answer

All answers are REVIEWED and MODERATED.
Please ensure your answer MEETS all our guidelines.

What makes a good answer? ▼

A good answer provides new insight and perspective. Here are guidelines to help facilitate a meaningful learning experience for everyone.

  1. Adhere to the eBible Statement of Faith.
  2. Your answer should be complete and stand-alone.
  3. Include supporting arguments, and scripture references if possible. Seek to answer the "why".
  4. Adhere to a proper tone and spirit of love and understanding.
  5. For more info see The Complete Guide to eBible
  1. 4000 characters remaining