← Back

What are the seven spirits of God?

What are the seven spirits of God mentioned in Revelations 4:5?

Revelation 4:1 - 11

ESV - 1 After this I looked, and behold, a door standing open in heaven! And the first voice, which I had heard speaking to me like a trumpet, said, "Come up here, and I will show you what must take place after this. 2 At once I was in the Spirit, and behold, a throne stood in heaven, with one seated on the throne.

Clarify Share Report Asked October 18 2015 Mini Charlotte Marko

Community answers are sorted based on votes. The higher the vote, the further up an answer is.

Eced7a1f c81d 42f4 95ea 9d5719dce241 Singapore Moses Messenger of God, CEO in IT industry, Astronaut, Scientist
► John got the glimpse of throne room of Heaven where God sits. He highlights the actual floor of the throne room (Rev 4:6 15:2-4cp.1 Ki 7:23-26; Chr. 4:2- 15) is like "sea of glass like unto crystal"

And out of the throne proceeded lightnings and thunderings and voices: and there were seven lamps of fire burning before the throne, which are the seven Spirits of God. (Rev 4:5)

The idea here seems to be that of the floor of the great throne room of the heavenly temple being made of transparent glass with the appearance of fire or prismatic colors produced by the glory of God. Out of the throne proceed lightnings which would make prismatic colors flash upon the sea of glass like the aurora borealis (northern lights). 

The glory of God eminating from the light in which He dwells will light the whole city and cause the glittering on the sea of glass (Rev 21:23; 1 Tim 6:16)

► The Seven Spirits of God in Rev 4:5 is the symbolic of HOLY SPIRIT.
► In Rev. 5:6, we read about seven horns and seven eyes is also symbolic of HOLY SPIRIT (NOT JESUS). 

What does it mean by Seven Spirits of God in Rev 4:5? It is Not seven titles of the Holy Spirit, for there are more titles than this that are applied to the Spirit. Since the Lamb has the seven horns and seven eyes, since we know there is but one Holy Spirit (Eph. 4:4-6), and since the Lamb is a symbol of Christ, the seven lamps of fire (Rev. 4:5), the seven horns, and seven eyes are all symbolic of the one Holy Spirit and can only denote His fullness and power upon the Lamb and before the throne (Jn. 3:34 Isa. 11:2; 42:1-7; 61:1-2 Acts 10:38).

October 18 2015 2 responses Vote Up Share Report

Add your Answer

All answers are REVIEWED and MODERATED.
Please ensure your answer MEETS all our guidelines.

What makes a good answer? ▼

A good answer provides new insight and perspective. Here are guidelines to help facilitate a meaningful learning experience for everyone.

  1. Adhere to the eBible Statement of Faith.
  2. Your answer should be complete and stand-alone.
  3. Include supporting arguments, and scripture references if possible. Seek to answer the "why".
  4. Adhere to a proper tone and spirit of love and understanding.
  5. For more info see The Complete Guide to eBible
  1. 4000 characters remaining